Our people

- News article -

Presenting: Spinverse Summer Trainees 2018

Jul 25, 2018 1:12:21 PM

During the summer, Spinverse has employed in total seven future talents to take part in customer projects as well as developing Spinverse services and learning a lot in the process.

In the video below, you can see a glimpse of the daily life of our summer trainees: Fredrik Carls, Konsta Huuki, Aki Kivivirta, Samuli Kotro, Lasse Mäki, Rasmus Viitala and Linda Wederhorn. Below the video you'll find short profiles from all of them and what has their role been so far, and what they've learned.


Do you want to be part of our story? We are always looking for new enthusiastic talent! See our open positions or send an open application here

Fredrik Carls

I'm Fredrik Carls and I live in Hägersten, Stockholm. In short, I would describe myself as positive and goal oriented with a big interest in machine learning and economics as well as a love for solving problems. I have finished my bachelor degree within Industrial management at KTH with a focus on computer science. Further, I have done exchange studies at Keio University, Tokyo, Japan. Currently, I'm about to start the last year of my master program within Industrial management at KTH, oriented towards machine learning. I'm also very interested in digitalization. I work in the ICT and Security team over at the Swedish office. Currently we work mostly in sales as well as some supporting roles within projects.

Konsta Huuki

I started working at Spinverse already in the February of 2018 as a part-time Marketing Trainee and was offered to continue full-time for the summer. I'm conducting my studies at Aalto University, studying Industrial Engineering and Management, where I major in Organizational Design and Leadership. For a minor I've studied Mechanical Engineering and Product Design, inspired by my interest in customer-oriented product and service design.

As a digital enthusiast since age 3, I've always had a knack of trying out and learning new software and programming capabilities, enabling me to smoothly manage a large portfolio of digital platforms from Twitter to LinkedIn and MS Excel to Adobe InDesign. Spinverse's newsletters and blog posts this year are largely my handiwork, not forgetting either the website reshaping which is in its final stretches. I am also responsible for directing and editing the video above, as well as compiling this news piece.

Outside of work you might encounter me volunteering in numerous organizations within the Aalto community, where I've actively taken part in a lot of interesting organizations since moving to Espoo from Oulu in 2013. This year my major responsibility outside of work was organizing the Aalto University student union's 8th annual ball. My other hobbies include music, particularly singing, and traveling.

Aki Kivivirta

I have been studying at Aalto University for three years. My bachelor is electrical engineering and masters signal processing and acoustics. In my bachelor, I had a minor in music technology from Sibelius Academy.

At Spinverse, the work environment is relaxed, I am given tasks with responsibility and the office has great access. Most of my tasks have been regarding the CRM system. I have formatted old data and searched new data both manually and with different programs I have built. I have also done smaller tasks such as updated old computers and planned the LAN cable network for our office.

Music is a big part in my life. I have been playing guitar from the age of four, studied in a classical music conservatory for ten years and I have also played contemporary music. Currently, I also sing in the Polytech choir.

Samuli Kotro

My name is Samuli Kotro and I am originally from Turku, Finland. I study Industrial Engineering and Management in Tampere University of Technology and have now finished my third year of studies there. I graduated as a Bachelor of Science just earlier this summer.  In my bachelor studies, I majored in Business Renewal and minored in Production Systems and Networks. The subject of my bachelor’s thesis was The Influence of Industrial Internet on Business Models. Next year, I will be studying in KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Sweden.

In Spinverse, I am a part of the ICT and Security team. During my summer trainee period so far, I have helped my team in various projects, for example by preparing the material for different client workshops or by preparing the EU funding proposals. In addition, I have worked closely with other teams and helped them with different tasks, as well. While the organization is divided into teams, we still work together as a whole.

During my free time, I like to do all kinds of sports for example go to gym, jog or play tennis. My other hobbies include golf and backcountry skiing. I also like to spend a lot of time with friends and family.

Lasse Mäki

I’m Lasse, a third-year student of Industrial Engineering and Management from Aalto University. After completing my bachelor’s degree in spring 2018, I continue my studies majoring in Strategy & Venturing with minors in Advanced Energy Systems and Engineering Physics. My interests lie in open innovation and technology commercialization along with discovering new possibilities in financial technologies and platform economies.

At Spinverse, I work in the Manufacturing & Energy team with projects addressing topical disruptive technologies along with supporting corporate sales activities. I have got the chance to see the entire value chain from first customer contacts to presenting final solutions. Many professionals are involved in this chain and working with them has really been a steep learning curve for me. During this summer, I have realized in a whole new light how things you learn in the classroom can provide valuable solutions to real-life problems!

Creativity and cultural issues are essential to me, since I’m also a professional pianist and organist and study classical music at the Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki. Voluntary defence is also an important pastime. Having previously worked as an officer in the Finnish Navy, I’m nowadays an active member of the Finnish Reserve Officers’ Federation (RUL) and participate frequently in military exercises, congresses and naval visits. Whenever I have free time from my increasingly prolific positions of trust in different organizations and associations, you’ll find me enjoying hiking, skiing, literature, wine and gastronomy.

Rasmus Viitala

I’m Rasmus Viitala, an energetic fourth year Engineering physics student, minoring in Industrial engineering & Management at Aalto university. I initiated my studies in 2015 and have since then finalized my bachelor’s work on fusion reactor research a year later, completed the Stanford international honors program last summer and will do a free-mover exchange to Vancouver, Canada this autumn.

At Spinverse I work in the Bioeconomy team, in which our main task is forming consortium projects based on state-of-the-art biomass valorizing cross European value chains and then constructing the corresponding project funding proposals. Beyond this, I have for instance been performing several market studies in areas aligned with both Spinverse’ and my personal interests. Apart from work, I enjoy travelling, exploring nature, the basics of mixology and exploiting Innopoli’s excellent gym.

Linda Wederhorn

My name is Linda Wederhorn and I am a Life Science Technology M.Sc. student from Aalto University School of Electrical Engineering, currently working as a Summer Trainee at Spinverse in the Health and Electronics team. I started my studies at Aalto University in 2014 and will complete my Master’s degree in the Biosensing and bioelectronics programme within some years.

During the first months of the summer at Spinverse, I've been taking part in many projects related to health technology and electronics. The varying tasks have included i.e. assisting in EU project management and business plan writing, studying the markets and preparing quotations. In collaboration with the supportive team, I have got to learn much – not only about newest innovations in the field, but also business and markets. In my free time I enjoy doing sports, especially bouldering and hiking, and exploring different countries and cultures.

Share this news post on
Contact Us

- News -

Relevant news posts

- Newsletter -

Get opportunities and news delivered to your mailbox